Home BREAKING NEWS CTA Commemorates 65th Anniversary of Tibetan National Uprising Day

CTA Commemorates 65th Anniversary of Tibetan National Uprising Day




The dignitaries arriving at the venue. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

Dharamshala: Tibetans in Dharamshala, led by the CTA leadership, gathered at the Tsuglagkhang courtyard on 10 March 2024 to commemorate the 65th anniversary of the Tibetan National Uprising Day, a historic moment marking Tibetans’ resistance to Chinese occupation, which tragically resulted in the deaths of hundreds of protesters.

The commemoration event was attended by German MP Michael Karl Brand, an Australian parliamentary delegation including Senator Dean Anthony Smith, Senator Deborah Mary O’Neill, MP Michael McCormack, MP David Smith, the CTA leadership, Secretaries of various departments, CTA staff, section heads, heads of NGOs, and the general public.

The official program commenced with the Sikyong hoisting the Tibetan national flag, accompanied by the singing of the Tibetan national anthem by artists from the Tibetan Institute of Performing Arts.

Speaker Khenpo Sonam Tenphel and Sikyong Penpa Tsering read out statements from the Tibetan Parliament in Exile and Kashag, respectively.

Chief guest German MP Michael Karl Brand spoke of the similarities between formerly divided Germany and Tibetans under CCP rule, expressing hope for Tibetans’ reunification, much like Germany’s.

Australian Senator Deborah Mary O’Neill emphasised her solidarity with Tibetans, stressing the importance of freedom for all. She stated, “Fundamental to the peace we hope for is the securing of freedom, both the freedom to and freedom for. Freedom to think, speak, sing, dance, and tell your history in writing, in the language of your people.” She assured the gathering that Australians would continue to raise concerns for Tibetans in Tibet.

Similarly, Senator Dean Anthony Smith, MP Michael McCormack, and MP David Smith extended their support to the Tibetan cause, receiving applause and appreciation from the gathered Tibetans.

The ceremony concluded with the recitation of prayers for the martyrs.

Read the statements from Kashag and Tibetan Parliament here.

Sikyong Penpa Tsering hoisting Tibetan National Flag. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

Speaker addressing the gathering. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

Sikyong addressing the gathering. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

Senator Deborah O’Neill addressing the gathering. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

MP Michael McCormack. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

MP David Smith. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

Senator Dean Smith. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

German MP Michael Brand. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

Members of the Tibetan Parliament. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

Secretaries of the CTA departments. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA

CTA staff and the general public at the commemoration event. Photo/Tenzin Jigme/CTA